Angebote zu "Tradition" (10 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

A Pint of Plain: Tradition, Change and the Fate...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Seamlessly blending history and reportage, Bill Barich offers a heartfelt homage to the traditional Irish pub, and to the central piece of Irish culture disappearing along with it. After meeting an Irishwoman in London and moving to Dublin, Bill Baricha found himself looking for a traditional Irish pub to be his local.There are nearly 12,000 pubs in Ireland, so he appeared to have plenty of choices. He wanted a pub like the one in John Fords classic movie, ´´The Quiet Man´´, offering talk and drink with no distractions, but such pubs are now scare as publicans increasingly rely on flat-screen televisions, rock music, even Texas Hold ´Em to attract a dwindling clientele. For Barich, this signaled that something deeper was at playan erosion of the essence of Ireland, perhaps without the Irish even being aware.A Pint of Plain is Barichs witty, deeply observant portrait of an Ireland vanishing before our eyes. Drawing on the wit and wisdom of Flann O´Brien, James Joyce, Brendan Behan, and J. M. Synge, Barich explores how Irish culture has become a commodity for exports for such firms as the Irish Pub Company, which has built some 500 authentic Irish pubs in 45 countries, where authenticity is in the eye of the beholder. The tale of Arthur Guinness and the famous brewery he founded in the mid-18th century reveals the astonishing fact that more stout is sold in Nigeria than in Ireland itself. From the famed watering holes of Dublin to tiny village pubs, Barich introduces a colorful array of characters, and, ever pursuing craic, the ineffable Irish word for a good time, engages in an unvarnished yet affectionate discussion about what it means to be Irish today. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Daniel Noel. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/001461/bk_adbl_001461_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Last Call for Liberty: How America´s Genius for...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The hour is critical. The American republic is suffering its gravest crisis since the Civil War. Conflicts, hostility, and incivility now threaten to tear the country apart. Competing visions have led to a dangerous moment of cultural self-destruction. This is no longer politics as usual, but an era of political warfare where our enemies are not foreign adversaries, but our fellow citizens. Yet the roots of the crisis are deeper than many realize.Os Guinness argues that we face a fundamental crisis of freedom, as America´s genius for freedom has become her Achilles´ heel. Our society´s conflicts are rooted in two rival views of freedom, one embodied in ´´1776´´ and the ideals of the American Revolution and the other in ´´1789´´ and the ideals of the French Revolution. Once again, America has become a house divided, and Americans must make up their minds as to which freedom to follow. Will the constitutional republic be restored or replaced? This grand treatment of history, civics, and ethics in the Jewish and Christian traditions represents Guinness´ definitive exploration of the prospects for human freedom today. He calls for a national conversation on the nature of freedom and poses key questions for concerned citizens to consider as we face a critical chapter in the American story. He offers listeners a checklist by which they can assess the character and consequences of the freedoms they are choosing. In the tradition of Alexis de Tocqueville, Guinness provides a visitor´s careful observation of the American experiment. Discover here a stirring vision for faithful citizenship and renewed responsibility for not only the nation but also the watching world. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Os Guinness. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hove/003679/bk_hove_003679_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Call, Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 173min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Oswald Chambers, internationally renowned author and thinker Os Guinness has produced a classic work on life´s purpose. With his usual incisiveness, Guinness goes past your superficial understanding to the very heart of what calling means. Far bigger than you job, deeper than your personal accomplishments, higher that you wildest ideas of self-fulfillment, calling addresses the very essence of your existence. In these messages, Dr. Guinness sets out the principles for all who seek their life´s central purpose. How do I discover my calling? What does it have to do with identity and personal growth? Is calling only a spiritual idea or does it cover work, career, and ideas of success? Os Guinness says...´´calling is not what it is commonly thought to be. It often flies directly in the face of our human inclinations. But no idea short of God´s call can ground and fulfill the truest human desire for purpose and fulfillment.´´ 1. Language: English. Narrator: Os Guinness. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/tnwd/000016/bk_tnwd_000016_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Lesereise Irland
15,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Zwischen alten Traditionen und katholischer Kirche, zwischen Geistern aus Spukschlössern und den Geistern aus vergangenen Konflikten beschreibt Ralf Sotscheck ein Land, dessen Bewohner mit viel historischem Ballast leben müssen, darüber aber das Feiern nicht vergessen. In Irland werden Heiratsfestivals abgehalten, und der Croagh Patrick hat als wichtiger heiliger Berg für Pilger immer noch jedes Jahr im Juli Hochsaison. Ralf Sotscheck erzählt kundig und pointiert vom schwarzen Gold der Iren, dem Guinness, vom irischen Wetter, von Veteranen und Friedhofsgärtnern, von Schlossführern und Eremiten, von ungeliebten Delfinen und einem ´Stammesweisen´.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.09.2019
Zum Angebot
Fool’s Talk: Recovering the Art of Christian Pe...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the post-Christian context, public life has become markedly more secular and private life infinitely more diverse. Yet many Christians still rely on cookie-cutter approaches to evangelism and apologetics. Most of these methods assume that people are open to, interested in, and needy for spiritual insight when increasingly most people are not. The urgent need, then, is the capacity to persuade - to make a convincing case for the Gospel to people who are not interested in it. In his magnum opus, Os Guinness offers a comprehensive presentation of the art and power of creative persuasion. Christians have often relied on proclaiming and preaching, protesting and picketing, but are strikingly weak in persuasion - the ability to talk to people who are closed to what is being said. Actual persuasion requires more than a one-size-fits-all approach. Guinness notes, ´´Jesus never spoke to two people the same way, and neither should we.´´ Following the tradition of Erasmus, Pascal, G. K. Chesterton, C. S. Lewis, Malcolm Muggeridge, and Peter Berger, Guinness demonstrates how apologetic persuasion requires both the rational and the imaginative. Persuasion is subversive, turning the tables on listeners´ assumptions to surprise them with signals of transcendence and the credibility of the Gospel. This book is the fruit of 40 years of thinking, honed in countless talks and discussions at many of the leading universities and intellectual centers of the world. Discover afresh the persuasive power of Christian witness from one of the leading apologists and thinkers of the era. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Ralph Lister. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/008482/bk_blak_008482_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Tale of Baboushka: A Traditional Christmas ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A popular traditional Christmas folktale from Russia, retold for a young audience, warmly touches on the true meaning of Christmas. Baboushka is busy with her house - she has so much to do. The late night arrival of three travelers at her cottage door interrupts her domestic routine of cleaning and polishing, and although she gives them excellent hospitality, she is relieved that they plan to travel on the following day. When the men explain that they are in search of a newborn king, Baboushka wonders whether to join them, but does not want to leave the house in a mess. Only later, when she sees the star and hears angels singing, does she realize she made the wrong choice. She hurries to take her own gift to the king but cannot find him. Tradition has it that she searches still, and wherever she hears the sound of children in a house, she leaves a secret gift. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Abby Guinness. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/092152/bk_acx0_092152_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Bucket List: Beer: 1000 Adventures ´´ Pubs ...
29,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

An indispensable guide for the beer lover--where to visit, when to go, what to drink, and everything in between. Finally--a beer-centric bucket list! Celebrating beer worldwide, this is a must-have for any beer aficionado. Whether you´re planning a pub crawl, a weekend in the country, or a longer vacation, this book is a trove of ideas for the beer lover. As is to be expected, this lively guide to beer-related travel contains a comprehensive list of hundreds of breweries large and small--both long-standing and freshly minted--that are open for tours and tastings along with an in-depth look at their different approaches to brewing, philosophies about flavors and ingredients, and what makes their beers special. But this book digs deep into the world of beer and includes a multitude of ideas for exploring the world´s best beer destinations: the Pacific Northwest´s gleaming modern taprooms; atmospheric English pubs; iconic breweries including San Francisco´s Anchor Steam and the Czech Republic´s original Pilsner; boisterous festivals from Munich´s Oktoberfest to Denver´s Great American Beer; and other points of interest such as Germany´s pop-up beer gardens or a pub crawl in Dublin where you can hoist a Guinness at James Joyce´s favorite pub. The book is liberally illustrated with atmospheric photos and reproductions of beer labels and logos and includes information on beer styles, food and beer pairings, drinking traditions, glassware, and a primer on brewing.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.09.2019
Zum Angebot
Dior and His Decorators
50,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Dior and His Decorators is the first work on the two interior designers most closely associated with Christian Dior. Like the unabashedly luxurious fashions of Dior´s New Look, which debuted in 1947, the interior designs of Victor Grandpierre and Georges Geffroy infused a war-weary world with a sumptuous new aesthetic - a melding of the refined traditions of the past with a wholly modern sense of elegance. Author Maureen Footer recounts the lives and work of this influential trio, illustrated with a trove of evocative vintage photographs. Grandpierre designed Dior´s first couture house, creating not only the elegantly restrained look of the salons but also the template for the Dior brand, including typeface, logo, and packaging. Both Grandpierre and Geffroy (who worked independently) designed the interior of Dior´s townhouse. After the couturier´s untimely death in 1957, Grandpierre and Geffroy went on to design salons for other couturiers, as well as homes for the likes of Yves Saint Laurent, Marcel Rochas, Gloria Guinness, Daisy Fellowes, and Maria Callas.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.09.2019
Zum Angebot